NOHA is a growing network of 12 European member universities and 5 global partner universities from different continents. The institutions share a commitment to humanitarian action and cooperate in joint educational and training programmes, research and projects.

Member universities

Partner universities


NOHA was born from the idea that higher educational institutions have an essential role to play in enhancing professionalism in the delivery of humanitarian aid through education.

In 1993, the 5 universities that composed NOHA, including Ruhr University Bochum, set on board the pioneering task of finding space for universities among the then limited humanitarian stakeholder mix. They established a network of universities across Europe delivering a multidisciplinary Masters programme that would be managed and administered by academics from a range of related disciplines.

Growing network and activities

Over the past 20 years the network has expanded and now comprises universities from twelve EU member states as well as 5 global partner universities on different continents.

With the continued support of the European Commission's Directorate Generals for Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection (DG ECHO) and Education and Culture (DG EAC), NOHA has been able to grow its network and expand its range of activities. NOHA currently develops education & training programmes, research & publication initiatives, and projects to serve students, professionals, researchers as well as institutions and organisations in the humanitarian action sector.